RETRIEVERS’ WOMEN’S BASKETBALL ANNOUNCES 2004-05 SCHEDULE

- The UMBC Women's Basketball team announced their 2004-05 schedule today as the Retrievers kick-off their season with the second annual Retriever Tip-Off Tournament the weekend of Nov. 20-21. The two-day opening weekend will feature two of the Retrievers' 15 home games as UMBC heads into their second year in the America East Conference.

"This year's schedule is really going to challenge our young student-athletes," said Head Coach Phil Stern. "Our non-conference schedule will be crucial for our team to come together and prepare for the conference season that entails a number of difficult trips and extended travel."

A number of Retriever opponents this season will be familiar as their opener features local foe Coppin State on Saturday, Nov. 20 at 4 p.m. UMBC's contest with Coppin State will be the back end of the Retriever Tip-Off Tournament's opening day as UMBC's former Northeast Conference rival Mount St. Mary's and Cornell face-off in the other bracket at 2 p.m. The tournament concludes on Sunday, Nov. 21, with the consolation game at 2 p.m. and the tournament championship game slated at 4 p.m.

The Retrievers travel across town to Morgan State on Nov. 23 before they head into the month of December that is highlighted with four home contests against Navy, Radford, American and Drexel and two road games against Lafayette and Towson. Four (Navy, Radford, Ameican and Towson) of those six opponents the Retrievers met in 2003-04.

The Retrievers will reacquaint themselves with their America East foes when the conference season begins on Wednesday, Jan. 5 as the Retrievers travel to Stony Brook. UMBC's first home conference contest will be on Wednesday, Jan. 12 as Boston University makes the trip to RAC Arena.

The Retrievers will receive a nice stretch from Feb. 16-26 when they host a four-game home stand with Binghamton, Albany, Vermont and Hartford coming to town. The Retrievers end the regular season on the road traveling to New Hampshire and Maine on March 2 and March 5, respectively.

The America East Conference Tournament will be held at the University of Hartford from Mar. 9-12.

All times and dates are subject to change. For the latest news, results and statistics continue to check the Retrievers official athletics website at www.umbcretrievers.com.

2004-05 UMBC Women's Basketball Schedule

Sat. Nov. 20 UMBC Tip-Off Tournament RAC Arena

Mount St. Mary's vs. Cornell 2:00

UMBC vs. Coppin State 4:00

Sun. Nov. 21 UMBC Tip-Off Tournament RAC Arena

Consolation Game 2:00

Championship Game 4:00

Tues. Nov. 23 Morgan State Baltimore, MD 7:00

Wed. Dec. 1 Navy RAC Arena 7:00

Tues. Dec. 7 Radford University RAC Arena 7:00

Thurs, Dec. 9 Lafayette College Easton, PA 7:00

Sat. Dec. 11 American University RAC Arena 7:00

Sat. Dec. 18 Drexel RAC Arena 5:00

Tues. Dec. 28 Towson University Towson, MD 7:00

Wed. Jan. 5 *Stony Brook University Stony Brook, NY TBA

Sat. Jan. 8 *University of Hartford West Hartford, CT 2:00

Wed. Jan. 12 *Boston University RAC Arena 7:00

Sat. Jan. 15 *Northeastern University RAC Arena 7:00

Wed. Jan. 19 *University at Albany Albany, NY 7:00

Sat. Jan. 22 *Binghamton University Vestal, NY 1:00

Wed. Jan 26 *University of Maine RAC Arena 7:00

Sat. Jan 29 *University of New Hampshire RAC Arena 7:00

Wed. Feb. 2 *University of Vermont Burlington, VT 7:00

Sat. Feb. 5 *Stony Brook University RAC Arena 7:00

Thurs. Feb. 10 *Boston University Boston, MA 7:00

Sat. Feb 12 *Northeastern University Boston, MA TBA

Wed. Feb. 16 *Binghamton University RAC Arena 7:00

Sat. Feb. 19 *University at Albany RAC Arena 7:00

Wed. Feb. 23 *University of Vermont RAC Arena 7:00

Sat. Feb. 26 *University of Hartford RAC Arena 7:00

Wed. Mar. 2 *University of New Hampshire Durham, NH 7:00

Sat. Mar. 5 *University of Maine Orono, ME 7:30

March 9-12 *AEC Tournament West Hartford, CT TBA