UMBC Starts CCSA North Invite on a Strong Note

UMBC Starts CCSA North Invite on a Strong Note


Baltimore, Md.—The UMBC swimming and diving teams had a strong showing on day one of the CCSA North Invitational on Saturday. Several Retrievers won their events, including the men taking both relays. Junior Coco Darelius (Rye, N.Y./Rye) set a school record on the 3 meter boards. Coco scored a 300.60 on Saturday.

The Men saw both Retriever teams pick up wins in the 200 Free and 400 Medley Relays. The team of Gregor Sporlein, Bryan Mattingly, Darnell Yarberough, and Trevor Doll won the 200 Free relay in a time of 1:25.59. The quartet of Nikola Trajkovic, Leo Endres, Sporlein and Lauri Kaei took first in the 400 Medley relay with a time of 3:29.60.

Sporlein picked up an individual victory in the 100 Free. Gregor finished with a time of 46.30. Jonas Gutzat and Andrew McKissick also turned in top times in the 500 Free and 200 Fly respectively. Gutzat finished in 4:39.75, while McKissick won in 1:55.58. Nikola Trajkovic picked up the final individual win with a first place finish in the 100 Breast with a time of 58.23.

On the 1 meter boards, Ryan Green took home first with a score of 293.55.

On the women's side, the team of Lauren Day, Emily Escobedo, Amanda Day, and Allie Caulfield took first in the 400 Medley Relay. The quartet finished in 3:57.25.

Escobedo paced the Retrievers, winning two individual events. Emily placed first in the 200 IM (2:06.68) and the 100 Breast (1:05.25). Brenda Rhodes, Caulfield and Catherine Frediani also earned individual wins. Rhodes took home first in the 500 Free with a time of 5:08.19. Caulfield continued her strong rookie campaign, with a win in the 100 Free (53.26). Finally, Frediani won the 200 Back in a time of 2:08.15.

Coco Darelius broke the school record in the 3 meter dive, which was previously held by Ashley Houghton. Darelius scored a 300.60, breaking Houghton's record which was 300.15.

UMBC is back at it with day two of the CCSA North Invite on Sunday. The first race is set to begin at 10:00 a.m.