Green Honored as Top Walk-On Diver in The College Swimming & Diving Honors’ Profiles in Excellence

Green Honored as Top Walk-On Diver in The College Swimming & Diving Honors’ Profiles in Excellence

College Swimming & Diving Honors

ANNAPOLIS, Md. – UMBC junior diver Ryan Green (Ellicott City, Md./Centennial) has been selected as the top Walk-On Diver for the 2013-14 College Swimming & Diving Honors and has been featured in the organization's annual Profiles in Excellence virtual magazine, the organization announced on Thursday night.

Green walked on to the UMBC swimming and diving team as a freshman back in 2011 and has since helped the Retrievers maintain a superior level of achievement, even as the team transitioned into the CCSA for the 2013-14 season.  This season, he qualified for the NCAA Zone Diving Championships for the second consecutive year, and became the first Retriever male diver to advance to the finals of an event. 

After a solid fall, Green took his diving to a new level beginning in Florida during the team's training trip over winter break.  The junior scored a then season-high of 304.65 to win the 1-meter competition against divers from West Virginia and George Mason, and meet the Zone standard.  Upon arriving back in Baltimore, the junior swept the diving events during UMBC's home meet with Howard on Jan. 11, and was named the CCSA Diver of the Week four days later.

Green continued his progression at the 2014 CCSA Championships in Knoxville, Tenn., scoring a career-high in both competitions.  He sat in third-place in the 3-meter event after the prelims, but scored a personal-best 318.85 in the finals in win gold.  In the 1-meter, Green led all divers after the first round with a score of 319.85, and then compiled a score of 301.70 in the finals to place second behind teammate Pak Lam Wong.  Green was named the CCSA Male Diver of the Meet at the end of the weekend and then in April was named the conference Diver of the Year by the league's coaches.

The 2013-14 College Swimming & Diving Honors are chosen from nominees submitted by coaches, athletes, and sport administrators.  The nominations are then organized into a survey for a panel of coaches to select the winners.