Eckhoff Named America East Winter Scholar-Athlete for Second-Straight Year

Senior Andrew Eckhoff
Senior Andrew Eckhoff

America East Release

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – UMBC senior diver Andrew Eckhoff (Chelmsford, Mass./Chelmsford) has been named an America East Winter Scholar-Athlete for the second-straight year, the conference office announced on Thursday afternoon.  He is the lone repeat Scholar-Athlete from the Winter 2011-12 squad.

Eckhoff earns the honor after sweeping the two diving events and helping the Retrievers win the America East title at the Championships.  For his individual accomplishments, he garnered the Most Outstanding Male Diver award for the second-consecutive year.  After besting the field in the 1-meter competition on Thursday, Eckhoff broke the meet record in the 3-meter event with a score of 346.85 in the finals to gain his second gold medal of the meet and fourth in the last two years.

Following the conference meet, the senior captain went on to capture both competitions at the ECAC Championships at Harvard, once again receiving Most Outstanding Diver accolades.  He then advanced to the NCAA Zones Meet for the second-straight season where he earned two top-25 finishes.

During the dual meet season, Eckhoff led the way as the Retrievers completed just their second-ever undefeated campaign.  The perfect season, which included wins over Navy, as well as East Carolina, saw Eckhoff garner seven America East Diver of the Week honors while he won nine individual diving events.

In the classroom, Eckhoff has accumulated a 3.44 grade-point-average in his first three-and-a-half years at UMBC while working towards a degree in environmental science.  Since his sophomore year, the first in which he has been eligible, Eckhoff has been named to the conference All-Academic Team each of the past three years.  In addition, he has been mentioned on the America East Honor Roll in each of his first three years in Baltimore, while receiving a spot on the Commissioner's Honor Roll in 2010 and 2012.  On campus, Eckhoff has received Semester Academic Honors four times.

The Scholar-Athletes were members of teams in the six championship sports which America East sponsored in the winter season including men's and women's basketball, men's and women's indoor track and field, and men's and women's swimming and diving. Member institutions of America East Conference for the 2012-13 winter season included University at Albany, Binghamton University, Boston University, University of Hartford, University of Maine, UMBC, University of New Hampshire, Stony Brook University and University of Vermont. 

A committee of athletic administrators and NCAA Faculty Athletics Representatives chose an honoree in each of the six winter championship sports. Each America East Scholar-Athlete was a starter or prominent reserve and carries a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.30. Each honoree will automatically be eligible for the America East Female or Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year award to be announced this summer.

2012-13 America East Scholar-Athletes

Men's Basketball – Luke Apfeld, Vermont

Women's Basketball – Julie Forster, Albany

Men's Swimming & Diving – Andrew Eckhoff, UMBC

Women's Swimming & Diving – Katherine Mann, New Hampshire

Men's Track & Field – R.J. Page, Boston University

Women's Track & Field – Katie Matthews, Boston University