DeWaal and Eckhoff Sweep Conference Weekly Men’s Swimming and Diving Honors

America East Release

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – UMBC seniors Pierre De Waal (Pretoria, South Africa/Tuks Sport/Cleveland State) and Andrew Eckhoff (Chelmsford, Mass./Chelmsford) have swept the America East weekly men's swimming and diving awards, the conference office announced on Tuesday afternoon.  De Waal earned the Swimmer of the Week honor while Eckhoff took the Diver of the Week award for the undefeated men's squad (6-0).

De Waal earns his third accolade of the season and seventh of his career after leading the Retrievers to a 181-108 victory over local rival Loyola on Saturday.  Against the Greyhounds, the versatile senior swept the butterfly events, setting season-best times in both events.  De Waal bested the field in the 200 fly with a time of 1:50.62 and then claimed the 100 fly event in a time of 51.44.  The two victories bring De Waal's season-total to 11 dual meet wins, the second-most on the team.


Senior Pierre De Waal

The diving award is Eckhoff's sixth of the season, matching his total from his junior year in 2011-12, and bringing his haul to 15 awards for his career.  This week's honor comes after Eckhoff swept the diving events against Loyola.  The senior captain scored a season-best in the 3-meter competition, besting the field with a score of 348.45.  He also surpassed the 300-point mark in the 1-meter event for the fourth time this season by winning the event with a score of 321.75.

UMBC has now won a total of 17 weekly conference awards this season, paced by Eckhoff's six honors.  Junior Mohamed Hussein (Cairo, Egypt/Victory College) has contributed four awards while divers Katie Bean (Mechanicsville, Va./Atlee) and Corinna Darelius (Rye, N.Y./Rye) have each won two.  In addition, senior Claire Barron (Lowestoft, England/Benjamin Britten/New Orleans) was named the Female Swimmer of the Week last week.

The Retrievers conclude the regular season this weekend when East Carolina comes to the UMBC Aquatic Complex with the meet scheduled to begin at 1:00 p.m. 

Senior Andrew Eckhoff