Three UMBC Swimming and Diving Records Highlight Day Four Prelims at the 2011 America East Championships

Freshman Johan Rohtla
Freshman Johan Rohtla

2011 AEC Sunday Prelims Results

BOYDS, Md.—The UMBC men's and women's swimming and diving teams broke three school records and qualified 21 for championship finals on Day Four prelims at the 2011 America East Championships at the Germantown Indoor Swim Center Sunday morning. Going into the final night, the women lead by 96 points, while the men have a 26-point advantage.


Senior Brad Reitz (Ellicott City, Md./Howard) broke the UMBC and pool record for the men's 200-yard butterfly in an NCAA consideration time of 1:47.33, the top time in prelims. He will be joined in the final by sophomores Sandy Haibel (Rockville, Md./Richard Montgomery) and Alex Moothart (Hopkinton, Mass./Hopkinton) and junior Ben Wolbert (Finksburg, Md./Westminster), respectively. Sophomore Rico Bado(Georgetown, Texas/Georgetown) will compete in the consolation final.


Junior Abbey McKenney (Wilmington, Del./Brandywine) broke the UMBC, America East Championship and pool record in the women's 100-yard freestyle in 49.70, while freshmanErika Ronning (Western Springs, Ill./Lyons Township) and junior Ashley Miller (New Smyrna Beach, Fla./New Smyrna Beach) will join her in the championship final with times of 51.83 and 51.96, respectively. Senior Danielle Cruz (Catonsville, Md./Western Tech) will swim in the consolation final.


Freshman Johan Rohtla (Tallinn, Estonia/Tallinn Secondary Science) will be seeded first in the men's 200-yard backstroke after setting a new UMBC record in 1:48.30. He will be joined in the championship final by senior Mat Carson (Toronto, Ontario, Canada/Silverthorn Collegiate Institute) and junior Nour Saad (Columbia, Md./Oakland Mills).


Senior Eric Jones (Gambrills, Md./Arundel) will be the top qualifier in the men's 100-yard freestyle with a time of 44.95, the second-fastest time in school history. He will be joined in the championship final by sophomore Steve Gallagher (Sinking Spring, Pa./Wilson) and senior Keilan Freeman (Calgary, Alberta, Canada/Argyll Centre), who finished in 45.80 and 46.14. Sophomore Herol Marjak (Harjumaa, Estonia/Tallinn Secondary Science) will compete in the consolation final after a time of 46.88.


Junior Laura Tilman (Miami, Fla./Ransom Everglades) will compete in the championship final of the women's 200 back, while fellow junior Kathryn Moorby (Cape May, N.J./Lower Cape May Regional) and freshman Patty Hallberg (Severna Park, Md./Broadneck) will compete in the consolation.


Sophomores Jennifer Kotonias (Burtonsville, Md./Academy of Holy Cross) and Tara Morrissette (Somersworth, N.H./Saint Thomas Aquinas) won their heats of the women's 200-yard butterfly, finishing in 2:01.93 and 2:02.11, respectively. They will be joined in the championship final by senior Sarah Ryan (Rockville Centre, N.Y./Oceanside), who finished in 2:03.46. Hallberg and junior Pink Kinanti (Jakarta, Indonesia/The Bolles School) will swim in the consolation final.


Junior John Mendenhall (Cherry Hill, N.J./Cherry Hill East) and senior Dan Weston-Dawkes(Ellicott City, Md./Wilde Lake) won their respective heats in the men's 200-yard breaststroke in 2:04.04 and 2:05.69, respectively. They will compete in the championship final and will be joined by senior Phillip Novotny (Fairfield, Conn./Fairfield Warde) who finished second in his heat in 2:07.32.


Sophomore Claire Barron (Lowestoft, England/Benjamin Britten/New Orleans) will swim in the championship final of the women's 200 breast, while senior Gaby Johnston (Windsor, Conn./Loomis Chaffee School) and freshman Talor Tadena (Orangevale, Calif./Bella Vista) will take part in the consolation final.


The championships conclude tonight at 6 p.m. with the finals of the men's and women's 1,650 free, 200 back, 100 free, 200 breast, 200 fly, women's 1-meter diving and the 400 free relay.