Pete Caringi III Tabbed as MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalist

Pete Caringi III Tabbed as MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalist

Kansas City, Kan. – UMBC's Pete Caringi III (Perry Hall, Md./Calvert Hall) has been tabbed as one of 15  semifinalists for the 2013 Missouri Athletic Club's (MAC) Hermann Trophy. He becomes the first player in UMBC school history to earn that distinction.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual intercollegiate award presented annually during a January banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

NCAA Division I coaches that are NSCAA College Services members may vote for their top choices Wednesday, Dec. 4 through Tuesday, Dec. 10 within myNSCAA on Soccer fans can also let their collective voice be heard by voting for their favorite player on the MAC's website hosted by LockerDome, starting Thursday, Dec. 5.

The top three vote-getters for each gender from the combined NSCAA coaches and weighted fan votes will be announced as finalists Thursday, Dec. 12, followed by the announcement of the winners at the banquet, Friday, Jan. 10, 2014.

"Each year, we look forward to seeing the wealth of talent college soccer presents and working with the Missouri Athletic Club to cap the season by bestowing this prestigious award," NSCAA CEO Joe Cummings said. "We also take pride in knowing that those that know this game the best, coaches and fans, have a hand in selecting these winners."

In 2013, Caringi earned America East's Striker of the Year Award for the second consecutive year and became the first repeat Striker of the Year in the 12-year history of the award. He also earned America East Fans' Choice Player of the Year honors for the second straight year.

Caringi produced an outstanding post-season, scoring a pair of goals and adding an assist in UMBC's 4-0 America East championship game victory over Hartford. He scored the game-tying goal in the 77th minute in UMBC's NCAA Second Round 2-2 double overtime draw versus U. Conn.

The Baltimore native led America East with 13 goals and 29 total points and finished his career with 37 goals (fourth on the all-time list) and 91 points (fifth all-time).

"For more than a quarter century the Missouri Athletic Club has had the privilege of annually honoring the top players in college soccer," MAC director of communications Jim Wilson said. "We look forward to carrying on that tradition this year when we find out who joins the ranks of some of the legends of the game like Mia Hamm, Kristine Lilly, Claudia Reyna and Alexi Lalas, who all claimed the crystal soccer ball trophy as collegiate players."

For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy and a list of past winners, visit the MAC Hermann Trophy page at