2012 Men's Soccer Alumni Game: "Most Successful Ever"

Asst. Coach Anthony Adams and Head Coach Pete Caringi flank UMBC HOF'ers Darius Taylor, Steve Zerhusen, Bobby Wagner and Andy Wells.

BALTIMORE- The UMBC men's soccer program had its most successful Alumni Game and Reception on Friday evening, April 27. There was a record 50 former Retrievers in attendance on the Bermuda surface at Retriever Soccer Park.


The alumni were divided up into four playing groups, with each group taking on the current Retrievers for 20 minutes apiece. The first 60 minutes was competitive with the varsity winning, 3-1.  The lone alumni goal was scored by Kevin Mezzadra (2003-06). 


During the final 20 minutes, the "older" guys played.  After about 10 minutes, the varsity was done for the night and the alumni played against each other.


The current team and alum gathered at Gianni's after the game for a reception.


Notes: During the alumni vs. alumni mini-game at the end, Justin Nall (2000-03) came on the field for about 15 seconds and got a "memorable" assist with Mezzadra finishing the play… The oldest alums present were Bob Walker (1975), Bob Pierce (1976-77) and Steve Zerhusen (1975-78)… The oldest to compete was Jon Larsson (1987-88).   

"I would like to publically thank all of our alumni in attendance for their  participation in and contribution to the biggest and most successful men's soccer Alumni Game ever," head coach Pete Caringi said. "I have been fortunate to see and hear of other programs' alumni games, and I believe that UMBC sets a standard of excellence that we all should take pride in."

Record "50" in Attendance:


Anthony Adams, Marco Angelini, Kokou Assigbe, Philippe Bissohong, Ricky Brown,Andrew BullsMiguel Calderon, Dustin Dzwonkowski, Jim Fendryk, Andrew Gillis, Kevin Gnatiko, Steve Goddard, Marcus Gross, Jesse Haislip, Levi Houapeu, Lou Karko, Steve King, J.J. Kremer, Jon Larsson, Mike Libber, Dan Louisignau, Andy Marchica, Brian Marchica, Rob Mamula, Brendon McCarron, Kevin Mezzadra, Jamal Molin, Justin Nall, Mike Novotny,Kingsley Onwuka, Paul Parsoneault, Franco Pastore, Bob Pierce, Sean RotheVince SavareseAndy Streilein, Darius Taylor, Ime Umoh, Aaron Velky, Oscar Villalobos, Bobby Wagner, PJ Wakefield, Bob Walker, Matt Ward, Adrian Washington, Marcus Weekes, Andrew Wells, Chris Williams, Tom Wunk, Steve Zerhusen.