Houapeu's Overtime Goal Defeats La Salle, 2-1

Nirav Kadam assisted on both UMBC goals in the win over La Salle
Nirav Kadam assisted on both UMBC goals in the win over La Salle

Video Highlights and Post-Game Comments

BALTIMORE-Senior forward Levi Houapeu (Germantown, Md./Watkins Mill) scored with 22 seconds remaining in the first overtime period to give host UMBC (3-2-0) a come-from-behind 2-1 victory over La Salle (0-3-1) at UMBC Stadium.

Houapeu's goal, his fifth of the young season, capped a Retriever comeback, as freshman forward Pete Caringi III (Baltimore, Md./Calvert Hall) tied the game with 5:01 remaining.

After a scoreless first half, UMBC blistered La Salle netminder John McCarthy with shots early in the second half, but the visitors scored on one of their lone forays of the stanza. In the 55th minute, senior midfielder Ryan Richter blasted a screened shot into the right side of the net from 20 yards away.

UMBC continued to pressure and La Salle sophomore midfielder Jeff Rio received his second caution with 5:07 remaining and was ejected from the game. On the ensuing play, sophomore midfielder Milo Kapor (Woodbridge, Ont./Emily Carr) served a ball, which junior midfielder Narav Kadam (Germantown, Md./Northwest/UNCG) flicked deep into the box. Caringi ran onto it and chipped it in the far right corner from six yards away for his third goal of the campaign.

On the game-winning play, Kadam captured the ball on the right slde and slid a short pass to Houapeu. The nation's leading scorer from a year ago, drove toward the right post and hit a low liner which beat McCarthy just inside the bar.

UMBC pumped 24 shots at goal and McCarthy made nine saves. UMBC sophomore netminder Phil Saunders (Perry Hall,  Md./Perry Hall) had three saves for the victors.

The Retrievers are 3-0-0 this season and have won 13 consecutive September home games dating back to 2007.

UMBC travels to Emmitsburg, Md., to take on Mount St. Mary's on Saturday,Sept. 18.

Men's Soccer Outlook 2010
August 25, 2010 Men's Soccer Outlook 2010