Wozniak Earns ABCA/Rawlings NCAA East All-Region Second Team Honors

Wozniak Earns ABCA/Rawlings NCAA East All-Region Second Team Honors

ABCA Release and Complete List

Greensboro, N.C.—UMBC junior RHP Conrad Wozniak (Cypress, Texas/Cypress Woods/Frank Phillip) earned a spot on the ABCA/Rawlings East All-Region Second Team honors, as announced by the ABCA (American Baseball Coaches Association) on Wednesday. The honor adds to the list for the junior transfer who helped lead the Retrievers to their most wins since 2008, and second most in program history.

Wozniak earns the distinction following his stellar season with the Retrievers. He finished the year with a 1.48 ERA, good for tenth nationally at time of publication. Wozniak had a 4-1 record in 12 starts, tossing three complete games. He threw 73 innings giving up 20 runs, with just 12 of them earned. Wozniak led the team with 56 strikeouts, and did not give up a triple or home run all year.

He was named America East Pitcher of the Year and earned All-Conference First Team honors, having the best ERA in the conference. In the America East Tournament, he threw seven complete innings, giving up just one run with four strikeouts to give UMBC their first ever America East Tournament victory, 9-5 against Maine.

About the ABCA:

The American Baseball Coaches Association has released the 2015 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. I All-Region teams. The teams are voted on by members of the American Baseball Coaches Association and the process is led by the ABCA NCAA Div. I All-America Committee. All-Region first-team selections are eligible for ABCA/Rawlings All-America honors.

ABCA/Rawlings All-Americans will be announced on Saturday, June 13, and the ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove team will be announced on Sunday, June 14.

The ABCA/Rawlings All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and is the oldest All-America team in college baseball. The ABCA All-America committee is chaired by Dean Ehehalt of Monmouth University and also includes head coaches Mike Stone (Massachusetts), Brian O'Connor (Virginia), Tim Corbin (Vanderbilt), Steve Jaska (Central Michigan), Steve Smith (Baylor), Tommy Raffo (Arkansas State) and George Horton (Oregon).

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 6,600 members represent all 50 states and 23 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, Junior College, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 72nd annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 7-10, 2016 in Nashville, Tennessee.