Retriever Baseball Alums Jeff Berman and Kevin Loewe Named to Big South All-Decade Team

Big South Release

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – UMBC baseball alums Kevin Loewe (Perry Hall, Md./Perry Hall) and Jeff Berman (Hunt Valley, Md./Dulaney) been named to the Big South Conference All-Decade Team for 1990-1999, the conference office announced on Thursday afternoon. 

Loewe is the all-time winningest pitcher in UMBC history, having pitched four years for the Retrievers from 1992-1995 and accumulating 27 wins over that span.  He currently holds the record for most career complete games (24) and the second-best earned run average (ERA) of any hurler in school history to toss more than 100 innings, posting a 3.51 ERA over 34 starts and 281.2 innings of work.  The southpaw from Perry Hall was a two-time All-Conference selection and was named the 1993 Big South Player of the Year after going 8-1 with a 2.34 ERA for the season.    

Berman guided the infield for the Retrievers from 1994-97 and earned a spot on the All-Conference Team three times.  His 234 career hits were a program record at the time, and now rank third in school history behind Jared Boyd (240) and Joe Fowler (239).  The Dulaney product also scored the eighth-most runs in UMBC history (146).

Both Loewe (Class of 2000) and Berman (Class of 2003) are members of the UMBC Athletic Hall of Fame.

The Big South Conference is celebrating its 30th Anniversary during the 2013-14 academic year.  The All-Decade Teams are determined by a voting panel of administrators with fan voting accounting for 20-percent of the results.