Nominees for the 2013 UMBC Gritty Awards Announced; Voting Open Until May 3rd

UMBC Dawg Blog


BALTIMORE – The nominees for the 2013 UMBC Gritty Awards have been announced on the Dawg Blog of  The categories for this year include Upset of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Record-Breaking Performance of the Year, Comeback Athlete of the Year, Breakthrough Athlete of the Year, and Play of the Year.

All voting, in addition to video of the nominees, can be found on the Dawg Blog with online voting counting for 50-percent of the results.

The nominees for Upset of the Year are volleyball’s win over Albany, men’s soccer moving past Old Dominion on PK’s, men’s swimming edging Navy, men’s basketball knocking off Hartford in the conference tournament, and women’s lacrosse rallying past Boston University.

The Rookie of the Year nominees include women’s soccer’s Amira Walcott, volleyball’s Sherelle Walker, men’s swimming’s Leo Endres, men’s tennis’ Justin Carter, baseball’s Kevin Lachance, and men’s lacrosse’sPat Young.

The athletes and teams up for the Record-Breaking Performance of the Year are men’s soccer’s downing Hartford 7-1, women’s basketball’s Raven Harris breaking the steals record, swimmer Mohamed Hussein’s breaking three school records at the NCAA Championships, men’s lacrosse’s Phil Poe setting a new face-off record against Vermont, Mercedes Jackson’s breaking two school and one stadium record at the Big Dawg Invitational, and Vincent Rentzsch besting the school javelin record at the Morgan State Legacy Meet.

Nominees for Comeback Athlete of the Year include men’s soccer’s Phil Saunders, women’s swimming’s Amy Fay, women’s lacrosse’s Jordan Lyons, men’s track’s Trae Proctor, and softball’s Heather Brown.

The Breakthrough Athlete of the Year nominees are cross country’s Brandan McGee, volleyball’s Mallory McIntyre, men’s soccer’s Pete Caringi III, women’s basketball’s Raven Harris, baseball’s Jake Barnes, and women’s lacrosse’s Shannon Harkey.

The Play of the Year recognizes the top play in UMBC Athletics in 2012-13 and the nominees for the award are Bria Bass’ stunning goal versus Stony Brook, Phil Saunders’ PK save against UNH to send men’s soccer to the NCAA Tournament, Brian Neller’s game-winning 3-pointer to down Maine, women’s swimming’s dramatic 400 freestyle relay win at the America East Championships, and Pat Young’s game-winner against Stony Brook.

Voting will continue on the Dawg Blog until Friday, May 3.  The winners will be announced at the UMBC Varsity Awards Banquet on Monday, May 6.